Artists Unveiled for 2016 Melbourne Art Trams

Posted by Beat Magazine on 1/8/16.

Eight local artists have been chosen for the 2016 Art Trams series, bringing some much needed colour to your morning commute as part of this year’s Melbourne Festival. 

Artists include Damiano Bertoli, Eddie Botha, Joceline Lee, Jon Cattapan, Mimi Leung and Reko Rennie, as well as emerging artist Eliza Dyball. This project transforms trams into contemporary public artworks with a selection of designs that depict a reflection of the artists’ own vision of Melbourne.

For the first time, a community tram has been introduced by Megan Evans and Eve Glenn, conceptualised from the celebrated 1986 Smith Street mural.

A People’s Choice Award will be announced following the release of all eight trams onto the network.

All art trams will remain on the tracks until April 2017. Check back to Beat tomorrow for the full Melbourne Festival Program.  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s